In the late 1800s, the tree-covered community of Sycamore was founded northeast of Decatur on what is today Farm Road 1204.
Slidell was founded in 1884 and named after U.S. Rep. John Slidell of Louisiana.
The Lone Star community was located between Decatur and Chico on what is now FM 1810.
Originally named Pringle, Park Springs was named for a grove that surrounded a group of fresh-water springs.
Named after Baptist minister L.L. Keeter, the community of Keeter sits just west of Eagle Mountain Lake on Farm Road 2048.
Greenwood boasts an extensive history that dates to 1850, when the first settlers came to the area.
First known as Tylerville in the late 1800s, Draco was primarily a farm community, with cotton as its main crop.
The town of Crafton once boasted six churches, a school complete with a library and auditorium, various drug and dry goods stores, cornmeal and flour mills, a cotton gin and a gas station.
Cottondale’s history dates back to before the Civil War, when pioneers began settling in the southern part of what would become Wise County.